Wednesday, 20 June 2018

6 Things You May Not Know About University of Ibadan

This is a list of very interesting and unknown details about the main university in Nigeria, U.I which is located in the southwestern part of the country.

1. The University of Ibadan started as Yaba College, Lagos

The University of Ibadan has its origins in Yaba College (now YabaTech), founded in 1932 in Yaba, Lagos. Yaba College is the first tertiary education institute in Nigeria. The Yaba School was transferred to Ibadan in 1948. It was then that it became the University College of Ibadan. This is the name that some of our parents and grandparents still call the University of Ibadan to this day.

2. UI was founded on its own site in 1948

The University of Ibadan was founded on its own site on November 17, 1948. At the end of 1963, on the university playing fields, Rt. Hon. Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa, Nigeria's first independent prime minister, became the First chancellor of his independent university. In that year, all the remaining ties with the University of London were cut.

On November 17, 1948. Arthur Creech Jones, then the British Secretary of State for the Colonies, directed the inauguration ceremony of the institution. The university was originally created as an extension of the University of London and was called University College, Ibadan.

3. UI, the only university founded before the Independence of Nigeria

The University of Ibadan, founded in 1948, is the oldest university in Nigeria and the only institution founded before the country became independent in 1960. The University of Ibadan is a public university controlled by the federal government located in Ibadan, state of Or me. Other large and popular universities such as the University of Lagos (1962), the Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria (1962), the University of Benin (1970), the University of Port Harcourt (1975), only established themselves after independence. Now you know, the only true university founded in Nigeria before 1960 is the University of Ibadan.

4. The first indigenous vice-rector of UI was Kenneth Dike

The first Nigerian vice chancellor of the university was Kenneth Dike, who is called the library of the University of Ibadan. He is the first indigenous VC of the University. Kenneth Onwika Dike (December 17, 1917 - October 26, 1983) was a Nigerian historian. He was a native of Awka, in eastern Nigeria.

During the Nigerian civil war, he moved to Harvard University, Boston. He was one of the founders of the Ibadan School that dominated the writing of the History of Nigeria until the 1970s. He is credited with having "played the leading role in creating a generation of African historians who could interpret their own history without being influenced by Eurocentric approaches ".

5. The designs of the residence halls are not identical

Did you know that the designs of the living rooms at the University of Ibadan are not identical? And, for you to know, this is deliberate. The Mellanby, Tedder, Kuti, Sultan Bello and Queen Elizabeth II halls were designed by Maxwell Fry and Jane Drew. Mr. Watkins Gray and Mr. Partners designed the Alexander Brown Hall as part of the overall design of the University College Hospital Complex. Independence and Nnamdi Azikiwe Halls, were designed by Messrs Design Group (Nigeria) Ltd. Obafemi Awolowo Hall was designed by Allied Group of Architects, while Tafawa Balewa and Idia Halls were designed by Mr. Aderele-Omisore-Adebanjo Associates. The Federal Ministry of Works designed the Abdusalami Abubakar Hall.

6. These Nigerian notables attended the University of Ibadan

to. Chinua Achebe, author of Things Fall Apart
second. Emeka Anyaoku, former Secretary General of the Commonwealth
do. Michael Omolewa, former President of the General Conference of UNESCO and Ambassador of Nigeria to UNESCO
re. Kayode Fayemi, governor of the state of Ekiti
my. J. P. Clark, Nigerian poet and dramatist
F. Wole Soyinka, winner of the 1986 Nobel Prize for Literature
gram. Grace Alele-Williams, first Nigerian woman to become the head (vice-rector) of a Nigerian university, the University of Benin
h. William Kumuyi, Founder and General Superintendent of the Ministry of Christian Deep Life
I. Ken Saro-Wiwa, Nigerian writer, television producer and environmental activist
j. Farida Mzamber Waziri, Former Executive President of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission of Nigeria (EFCC).

No comments:

Post a Comment